Unlike a driver's license or marriage certificate, a Permit to Carry is not given "full faith and credit" among the fifty States. This has the unfortunate result of perhaps having a permit from State A and it not being recognized or honored in State B. Or, a person might live in a very restrictive State such as Iowa, or a non-issuing State such as Illinois or Wisconsin, yet they want to be able to legally carry in as many States as possible. A Utah permit can help solve those problems!
The Utah permit has the combination of being easy to acquire and widely honored...in about 30 States.. ( see http://handgunlaw.us for coverage maps)...making it a very attractive permit to acquire.
Here in Minnesota, we have the problem that once we cross the Red River into North Dakota, our permit is not valid (neither ND or MN honor the other); accordingly, since both ND and MN honor the Utah permit, it is a very popular permit to secure. Further, if you live in a State that is somewhat restrictive, or in a non-issuing State such as Illinois, then securing a permit from Utah can greatly expand the locations you can legally carry.
The Utah process requires a class (taught by a Utah certified instructor...and I am one), but has no range component that is required. Thus, it can be conducted anywhere that we can meet...a home, business, club etc....any place that we can meet for about 4 hours to fully cover the mandated curriculum that Utah requires.
Once the class is completed, the applicant still needs to be fingerprinted and to supply a head/shoulders photo to Utah, and pay their State processing fee; the permit is valid for 5 years.
In addition to doing the class in my home area, I take this "on the road" to many locations throughout the Midwest.
If you would like a class in your community, send me an e-mail and we can work out the logistics!
IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT THE UTAH PERMIT....PLEASE READ... Effective May 11, 2011, you CANNOT OBTAIN A UTAH PERMIT unless you have first obtained a permit from your home State. EXCEPTIONS: There are 2 exceptions: (1) your home State does not issue permits (i.e., IL is not affected by this new law); or, (2) your home State does not honor the Utah permit. (see http://handgunlaw.us for coverage maps to see if your State is within this exception.)